QUEEN'S UNIVERSITY BELFAST STUDENTS' UNION

MINUTES

Inaugural Meeting of the Students' Union Council held on 7 November 2013 in The Space, Level 1, Students' Union

Present:

Sarah Calderwood (PG) Sarah Wright (Open)

Alana Finn (Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, AHSS) Andrew Carruthers (AHSS) Anna McKinley (Medicine, Health and Life Sciences, MHLS) Aoibhin McNeill (Engineering and Physical Sciences, EPS) Barbra Mutamba (Postgraduate, PG) Bethany Ferris (School Representative - Institute of Theology) Bobbie-Leigh Herdman (School Representative - Institute of Professional Legal Studies) Brendan Corr (Open First Year) Caoimhe McNeill (Executive Management Committee, EMC) Catherine McAteer (Open First Year) Cathy Corbett (PG) Christopher Smyth (EPS) Ciaran Gallagher (Open) Clare Rea (MHLS) Cliona McCarney (AHSS) Connor Daly (EMC) Connor Malone (PG) Curtis Neely (MHLS) Daniel Lowe (Open) Daniel McCabe (MHLS) David Knox (AHSS) David Sands (School Representative - Psychology) Declan Frith (AHSS) Derek Crosby (PG) Eoin Deeney (EMC) Eoin Donnelly (School Representative - Law) Farah Ibrahim (AHSS) Faye Ni Cheallaigh (ÉPS) Fergal McFerran (Open) Fiachra O'Maolcraoibhe (Open) Helen Monaghan (MHLS) Jack Cong Su (MHLS) James Barnes (PG / School Representative - Politics, International Studies and Philosophy) James Hyde (School Representative - Pharmacy) Jan Sen Yu (AHSS) Jessica Black (MHLS / School Representative - Biological Sciences) Julia Andrade Rocha (PG) Karl Vidamour (AHSS) Kathryn Waller (AHSS) Katie Perry (AHSS) Laura Gemmell (EPS) Lauren Brown (AHSS) Lorcan Gallagher (EPS) Mannix McAlister (Open First Year) Mark Earney (School Representative - Management) Mark Millar (School Representative - Geography, Archaeology and Palaeoecology) Martin Lilly (EMC) Megan Liddy (PG) Niall Bole (ÉPS) Niall McShane (EMC, in the Chair) Niall Robb (EPS) Niamh Marley (AHSS) Odhran Devlin (Open) Oisin Hassan (AHSS) Paul Loughran (EPS) Philip Barr (Open) Raymond Dillon (EPS / School Representative - Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) Samantha Rogers (AHSS) Sammy Wade (AHSS) Sana Ashraf (School Representative - Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Science)

Sarah-Louise Baird (EMC) Shannon Downey (Open First Year) Sky Aughey (Open) Tara Pouryahya (MHLS) Thomas Thompson (MHLS) Tiernan McAteer (EMC)

In Attendance:

Dominic Doherty (Clerk of Council)

Niall McShane (Union President) welcomed all attendees to the Inaugural Meeting of the 2013-14 session of the Students' Union Council.

808. APOLOGIES.

Apologies were received from the following Councillors:

Aaron Blair (School Representative – Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering)
Aidan Bannon (MHLS)
Brighdin O'Neill (MHLS)
Charlotte Troy (School Representative – History and Anthropology)
Conrad Johnston (School Representative – Chemistry and Chemical Engineering)
Jack Donnelly (Open First Year)
James Rodgers (EPS)
Julia Whitehouse (AHSS)
Katie Matthews (AHSS)
Mehul Vithlani (MHLS)
Patrick Morgan (EPS)

809. MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING OF 7 MAY 2013

It was agreed that the minutes of the Annual Business Meeting of 7 May 2013 (SUC/M/13/4) were a true and accurate record of proceedings.

810. BUSINESS ARISING

There was none.

811. COMMUNICATIONS

There were none.

812. BYE-ELECTIONS

There were none.

813. ELECTIONS

The Chair invited nominations to the following positions:

813.1 Union Speaker (1 vacancy)

<u>Andrew Carruthers</u> was duly proposed. This election also featured Re-Open Nominations.

Following the tallying of votes cast (Carruthers 64, Re-Open Nominations 1 and Spoilt Votes 0), Mr Carruthers was declared elected and chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Mr Carruthers invited nominations to the following positions:

813.2 Education and Welfare Committee (15 vacancies)

Jessica Black, Niamh Marley, Catherine McAteer, Cliona McCarney, Helen Monaghan, Katie Perry, Christopher Smyth and Jack Cong Su were duly proposed.

As there were fewer candidates than available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

813.3 Campaigns and Communications Committee (10 vacancies)

Laura Gemmell, Oisin Hassan, Megan Liddy, Fergal McFerran, Matthew Neill and Fiachra O'Maolcraoibhe were duly proposed.

As there were fewer candidates than available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

813.4 Community, Equality and Diversity Committee (14 vacancies)

Cathy Corbett, Brendan Corr, Odhran Devlin, Ciaran Gallagher, Daniel Hogan, Farah Ibrahim, Connor Malone, Mark Millar, Curtis Neely, Julia Andrade Rocha, Kathryn Waller, Julia Whitehouse and Jan Sen Yu were duly proposed.

As there were fewer candidates than available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

813.5 Clubs, Societies and Student Development Committee (10 vacancies)

James Barnes, Niall Bole, Shannon Downey, Catherine McAteer, Aoibhin McNeill, Faye Ni Cheallaigh, James Rodgers, Samantha Rogers and Sammy Wade were duly proposed.

As there were fewer candidates than available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

813.6 Students' Union Management Board (3 vacancies)

Philip Barr, <u>Niall Bole</u>, <u>Derek Crosby</u>, Alana Finn, <u>Aoibhin McNeill</u> and Samantha Rogers were duly proposed.

The candidates whose names are underlined were elected.

813.7 <u>Students' Union Environmental and Ethical Committee (10 vacancies)</u>

James Barnes, Bethany Ferris, Alana Finn, Declan Frith, Farah Ibrahim and Fiachra O'Maolcraoibhe were duly proposed.

As there were fewer candidates than available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

813.8 Students' Union Officer Review Group (6 vacancies)

Niall Bole, Odhran Devlin, Bethany Ferris, Connor Malone, Fergal McFerran and Barbra Mutamba were duly proposed.

As the number of candidates proposed was equal to the number of available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

The Council noted that Cathy Corbett, Derek Crosby, Matthew Hunt and Christopher Smyth had been previously elected by Council to serve on the Officer Review Group and would continue to be members of this Group during the 2013-14 session of the Council.

813.9 University Senate (1 vacancy)

Aidan Bannon, <u>Jessica Kirk</u>, Christopher Smyth and Sarah Wright were duly proposed.

The candidate whose name is underlined was elected.

813.10 Academic Council (1 vacancy)

Jessica Black was duly proposed and was deemed to be elected.

813.11 Academic Board (4 vacancies)

Ciaran Gallagher, Megan Liddy, Katie Perry and Jan Sen Yu were duly proposed.

As the number of candidates proposed was equal to the number of available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

813.12 Postgraduate Forum (5 vacancies)

Connor Malone, Barbra Mutamba and Julia Andrade Rocha were duly proposed.

As there were fewer candidates than available vacancies, all of the above Councillors were deemed to be elected.

814. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS / RULES AMENDMENTS

There were none.

815. REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AND RECOMMENDATIONS

It was noted that this would be presented at the November 2013 Statutory Meeting.

816. REPORTS FROM OTHER UNION COMMITTEES AND RECOMMENDATIONS.

There were none.

817. REPORTS FROM UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES.

It was noted that these would be presented at the November 2013 Statutory Meeting.

818. CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS.

There were none.

819. QUESTIONS.

There were none.

820. MOTIONS.

There were none.

821. ANY OTHER COMPETENT BUSINESS

There was none.

822. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Mr Carruthers announced that the next Statutory Meeting of the Students' Union Council would take place at 6.00 p.m. on Tuesday 19 November 2013 in The Space, Level 1, Students' Union.

DOMINIC DOHERTY (Clerk, Students' Union Council)